Simple Way To Send Disappearing WhatsApp Messages. Poof! They’re there one minute, and then they’re gone the next!
- What is WhatsApp Disappearing Messages?
- Some things to bear in mind before you start
- How to send WhatsApp Disappearing Messages (Android and iPhone)
Go to Settings—>Account—>Privacy—>Disappearing Messages to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Messages for all contacts. Choose the time frame you want to work with.
Tap on their name at the top and select Disappearing Messages to enable the feature for only chosen contacts. Choose the time frame you want to work with.
To see the function work, you may need to archive then unarchive the chat.
If you send someone a WhatsApp message, you may not want the messages to remain on their phone indefinitely.
It may be anything humiliating or compromising in the future, or perhaps you just want an auto-delete feature on WhatsApp to keep things tidy?
After a specific amount of time has passed, the message is sent to WhatsApp message heaven, where it will never be seen again.
That’s what WhatsApp Disappearing Messages are for, and we’ll look at them in this article.
When you use the Disappearing Messages function, you can send a WhatsApp message to one of your contacts, and WhatsApp will delete it from both your device and the recipient’s device after a certain amount of time has passed.
The time span is currently either 24 hours, seven days, or 90 days. At this moment, you are unable to set a custom time.
WhatsApp’s Disappearing Messages feature isn’t fully foolproof, even though it was created with the best of intentions.
As a result, there are a few things to consider before entrusting your most private ideas to it.
- Only communications sent after you turn on Disappearing Messages will be affected. Messages that have already been sent will not be deleted. It isn’t retroactive in any way.
- If the message receiver does not read your message within the time period you choose, it will be deleted as intended. However, until WhatsApp is launched, the message preview may appear in the phone alerts.
- When a message recipient replies to a fading message, the quoted content may stay in the conversation even after the original message has vanished.
- If a disappearing message is forwarded to another WhatsApp chat with the Disappearing Messages feature turned off, the message will not disappear. When a user recovers from a backup, however, disappearing messages will be removed.
With all of these considerations in mind, here’s how to turn on the Disappearing Messages function on your Android or iPhone.
You can’t enable it directly on the desktop or web versions of WhatsApp right now.
If you enable it on the mobile app, however, the settings will sync with the desktop or browser version.
To begin, you must turn on the feature, which can be done in one of two ways.
You can turn it on for all future chats with a default timer, or you can turn it on solely for individual contacts with a timer set for that person.
Go to Settings—>Account—>Privacy—>Disappearing Messages to enable it for all new chats with a default timer.
Now select the time period you want to have.
To use it on an existing chat, you must first archive it, then restore it from the archive.
The Disappearing Messages icon will now appear next to the contact photo, along with a new message indicating that the feature has been enabled.
Keep in mind that the other person will be able to see these things as well, so you won’t be able to hide the fact that you’re nuking texts.
If you only want Disappearing Messages for specific contacts, go to that contact’s profile and tap on their name at the top of the screen.
Tap on Disappearing Messages at the bottom of the screen.
As previously, select your chosen time period. Before the functionality appears on the screen, you may need to archive and unarchive the chat.
Is it possible to send vanishing messages through WhatsApp’s desktop and browser clients?
On the desktop and web versions, you can’t turn it on right now. However, if you enable Disappearing Messages on the mobile app, your preferences will sync to the desktop or browser version as well.
Is it possible to send WhatsApp groups vanishing messages?
Yes, you certainly can. It functions similarly to a standard chat, with the exception that only group managers have the ability to enable or stop the Disappearing Messages feature in groups.
Is it possible for someone to see when you use WhatsApp’s disappearing photos feature?
Yes, they will receive a notification from WhatsApp stating that after the time period you specify, all subsequent communications will be destroyed. In addition, a new icon will appear next to their user profile image.
How can I keep my WhatsApp messages from disappearing?
You can’t disable the disappearing messages function if the sender has activated it on the message they’ve sent. If you could, the whole concept of deleting communications would be moot.